Bewcastle School

Walking the wall

Our governors

Our Governing Body

Michelle Thorpe - Chair of Governors

Nikki Shilcock  – Vice-Chair

Georgina Harland - Head teacher

Lisa Heathcote - Clerk to the governing body

Finance  and Staffing committee

Michelle Thorpe (chair), Nichola Shilcock, Andrea Nicholson, Georgina Harland.

Health and Safety committee (including Buildings and Grounds)

Garry Philips (chair), Jane Howard, Caroline Telford, Joyce Waugh, Georgina Harland, Roger Leach

Pupils committee (including Safeguarding and Curriculum)

Stephen Pattinson (chair),  Ann Armstrong (Safeguarding governor), Emma James, Michelle Thorpe, Georgina Harland.

Please also visit our page (about our governors) for attendance at meetings and register of business interests.

The Governing Body meets at least once a term to plan the strategic leadership of the school. They provide support and challenge to the Head teacher and other school leaders. Governing body meetings all have an agenda and minutes are taken by the Clerk. Being a governor is a challenging but immensely rewarding voluntary role.